Yet Another Kitchen Re-design Idea

So, I’ve been thinking for a while now…and quite frankly has been bothering me.  The kitchen, for some reason, is still missing something.  I just think it could be better than it is.  Dont get me wrong, its come a long way and I love it!  I’ve just been obsessing over how much nicer it would look if I only had stainless steel appliances!  That’s what I originally intended on having when I visualized this beautiful white kitchen with wood countertops and floors, but right now we can’t afford $2,000 appliances.  I just feel now that the kitchen is too white, and am trying to come up with creative ways to add some color and pizzaz to the place, without forking out a ton of money.

I’ll share what I’m thinking so far:

The current “fad” is chalkboard paint.  It’s everywhere! On doors, walls, dressers, even refridgerators!  So I thought how cool would it be to add it up above the cupboards and write in different fonts and languages “to eat.”   This would add some color, texture, and a little bit of a “wordly” feel to the kitchen.  I think I will give it a try in the next few days and let you know how it turns out.  The worst thing that can happen is it doesn’t quite work out, and I paint over it with another color.

Some other thoughts:  take off the cabinet doors on either side of the oven, and have open shelves with some beautiful colored decor.

Any other tips are definitely welcome!

Comments
2 Responses to “Yet Another Kitchen Re-design Idea”
  1. April says:

    I love your blog!!! Your kitchen is beautiful– I really like the hanging lights you found for the bar.

    On your previous kitchen post I was going to suggest taking the upper cupboard doors off to add some visual interest… you beat me to it! You could consider painting the back walls of the cupboards (but not the shelves/sidewalls) a fun color, or black– or maybe find some funky wallpaper on sale…? : )

  2. Sharon McCulloch says:

    I love your kitchen. We saw the DIY episode.

Leave a Reply

