Pottery Barn Eagan Mirror

I know there is a plethora of tutorials out in blogland on how to make the Pottery Barn Eagan Mirror.  Like here, here, here, and ummmm, here too!  While all of these turned out amazing!  I wanted (and needed) the EXACT same size that the REAL pottery barn mirror is.  I needed a large statement to hang above my mantel that would cover up that atrocious hole in my wall.  I simply was not going to settle for 8×8 mirrors.  If I was going to make this mirror huge, I was going to find a way to make it with the same size mirrors Pottery Barn uses (which happen to be 8 x 10 beveled mirrors).  I know some people were able to find them at hobby lobby, the dollar store, and michaels, but I checked all of these places, and none of them carried them anymore 😦 sad day

Well! Let me tell you it took me WEEKS to find a place that carried these.  I think I went 16 pages deep into a google search to finally find a place that sold them out of New Mexico here.  I will say, I had to pay a pretty penny to get these (*cough $165 including S&H cough*), but to me, it was worth it.  If you would like to save even more money, and if the size of the mirror isn’t too important then I would recommend getting 8 x8 beveled mirrors here or here.

So now that we have that out of the way, here is what you will need for the mirror.

x amount of mirrors
1/2″ plywood or mdf (if you plan on hanging your mirror, I recommend plywood, its lighter)
some corner moulding
flat moulding
a can of Rustoleum’s “Oil Rubbed Bronze” spray paint
Liquid Nails’ “Mirror Adhesive”
Plastic Mirror Rosettes
Cut Tacs
nails and nail gun

So, are you ready?  Here we go….


Step 1 and 2: layout your piece of plywood, with your mirrors and trim and get an exact measurement of how long and wide your base (plywood) will need to be cut at.

Step 3: cut plywood to correct size
Step 4: measure our your corner mouldings so that they all line up and fit nicely together.
Step 5: (optional) line interior angle of corner mouldings with liquid nails

Step 6 & 7:  Alternate nailing the top and side of the moulding to the plywood.

Now you are ready to start laying out your inner mouldings!


Step 8: Just lay out your inner trim and cut the correct lengths.
Step 9: lay mirrors in between trim so that you have the correct widths. You want to be careful with this step by not making the mirrors overly snug. You need to be able to pop them back out with ease, and don’t worry if you have a little bit of wiggle room, just even it out among the mirrors!
Step 10: With mirrors still in place, nail down the trim. Pick up the mirrors, or slide them down to the other side and nail the other end of the trim down.
Step 11: measure and cut cross trim and repeat steps 9 & 10

Step 12; Now for the fun part! Spray Painting!

I started off with the Krylon version, as you can see here.  After two coats I realized it wasn’t cutting it, so I went and bought the Rustoleum version. SO much better!

Save yourself the grief and just buy the slightly more expensive spray paint. It has primer mixed in with it, and it covers so much better than its cheaper competitor. ( I layed out all of the plastic mirror rosettes on the board as well so they would get colored. I grabbed a ton of the tacks and stuck them lightly into a piece of styrofoam so that I could get the tops of the tacs all nicely painted.

After everything has dried, it’s time to glue down the mirrors. Now this is where I ran into a bit of a problem. Some of my mirrors were no longer fitting in. I had no idea why, since I had nailed down the trim with the mirrors still in, I figured they should still fit. Well, some of them didn’t, and the only thing I could think of was that the paint had added a bit more depth to the trim, making them just big enough for the mirrors to no longer fit. I had to pull some of the trim back up and re-adjust. It was just a pain in the but having to do it all over again, so that’s why you should leave just a little wiggle room in the first place. Or you could just spray paint everything and wait to nail the trim down until your ready to glue your mirrors in at the same time. It’s totally up to you, just thought I’d share my mishaps in hopes that you don’t have the same.

I LOVED how the mirror turned out! It was a bit heavy, and I knew it would be sitting on my mantel so I didn’t have to worry about attaching hanging fixtures to it (at least not right now). But it passed the test with flying colors of hiding that horrific hole in my wall. All better now 🙂

Overall with everything included, I did spend a pretty penny (let’s just say around $200 including the shipping and handling for the 25 mirrors), but hey it still sure beats $700!

I loved doing this project, and can’t wait to come up with a good reason to do it again!  Hope this was easy to follow, just let me know if you have any questions!

Ta-Ta for now 🙂

linking up to:
Savvy Southern StylePhotobucketSomewhat SimpleThe DIY Show Off
Funky Junk InteriorsBoogieboard Cottage

Comments
17 Responses to “Pottery Barn Eagan Mirror”
  1. Beth says:

    I love, love, love this! I have had my eye on this in the PB catalog! I hope you don’t mind if I copy (that is if I can talk hubby into helping me). I have a huge mantel and tall ceilings and nothing has looked just right but I believe this will do the job 🙂
    Thank you for all the links..I will start shopping for some mirrors 🙂 You did an awesome job!!!!!!!

    • Amanda Laird says:

      Glad you love it! thats why I have the tutorial (for people to “copy”). And as you can see, It’s been done many a-time before me. Please let me know if you have any questions, i’d love to help any way I can! and good luck!

  2. Great project! I love the final product. Your mantel looks amazing.

    • Tommy says:

      Yo1;#82u7&re so cool! I don’t think I have read through a single thing like that before. So nice to find someone with original thoughts on this subject matter. Really.. thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that is needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  3. Kathy says:

    Wow what a marvelous job, I’m so impressed!

  4. Wow – your mirror looks GREAT! I know what you mean about not wanting to settle, and the end result is just like the PB one at a fraction of the price – fabulous job!

  5. Saneth says:

    Fabulous mirror, and excellent tutorial on how to do it! I have wanted this mirror, but like so many are not willing to fork out that much for it. Thanks for sharing!

    • Amanda Laird says:

      I hear ya! There was no way I was gonna fork out $700. $200 was still pushing it for me…..but I just HAD to have this mirror seeing it would both look great and solve my problem of covering up the hole, $200 wasn’t too bad in the end for how fantastic it turned out! Glad you like it 🙂

  6. ashallann says:

    I just found your blog this is amazing I have found our June project!

  7. tammy says:

    awesome! thats for the tutorial!!! thanks for sharing this at my party!

  8. Terry Moore says:

    Another crazy good knock off. You are one great gal that thinks outside the box. Such a stunning look.

  9. Sherry says:

    That turned wonderful. How pretty and you did a great job on it. Thanks for linking it up! Would you please put a link back to HSH in you post. Thanks!
    Sherry

  10. mary says:

    I love this! I’d like to invite you to post it on Masterpiece Monday at Boogieboard Cottage. The link will be up all week, I hope you can join in. Have a nice week, Mary :O)

    • Dorothy says:

      Then on the thirteenth dadomyEund,m,ncler femme from the fighting top,moncler femmesighted what looked like a great dark mountain rising out of the sea on their port bow.

  11. April says:

    freaking gorgeous!! Your projects are so inspiring : ) how do you find the time to do all this stuff?!

    • Amanda Laird says:

      Its taking over designated “homework time” I know…i know…bad right? but common this is sooo much more fun! I just read your post, your too funny….brown and sticky….hehehe

  12. Brook says:

    AMAZING!! I love how big it is! You did a wonderful job. I agree with the spray paint. That Rustoleum paint and primer in one is worth the extra $$!

Leave a Reply

